India – The Land Regions

The mountain region stretches from one end of India to the other in the northern most part of the country and comprises three almost parallel ranges between which are found large plateaus and beautiful fertile valleys.

India is divided into four fairly clear, physically identifiable regions: the great northern mountain zone, the sprawling Indo-Gangetic Plains, the desert area and the Southern Peninsula.

Indo-Gangetic PlainsThe river valleys of the Indus, Ganga and Brahmaputra merge to form the Indo Gangetic plain, which extends across Northern India for about 2,400 km, with a wide varying from 260 to 350 km. This almost flat plain, one of the world’s greatest stretches of flat alluvium, is amongst the most densely populated areas on earth. It is a little over a quarter as large as the mountain region.

The desert region of India comprises the ‘great desert’ and the ‘little desert’. The former extends northwards from the edge of the Rann of Kachchh and covers virtually the whole of the Rajasthan-Sind frontier. The ‘little desert’ stretches from between Jaisalmer and Jodhpur to a little beyond the north of Rajasthan.

Separated by the Aravalli, Vindhya, Maikala and Ajanta mountain ranges from the Indo-Gangetic Plain is the peninsular plateau. This plateau is flanked by the Eastern Ghats and the Western Ghats, the former averaging about 600 meters in height and the latter around 1,000 meters (with certain peaks over 2,000 meters.) The Western Ghats fall abruptly to the Arabian Sea. The narrow strip of land thus formed is an area of great fertility. Between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal is a much broader coastal area of varying fertility. Joining both Ghats at the southern point of the great plateau are the Nilgiri Hills.

  1. One Response to “India – The Land Regions”

  2. By Ayush on Jul 31, 2013 | Reply

    Very helpful in completing my projects.

Post a Comment